Connectivism

Connectivism

I believe technology has been a positive force in the way I learn today. I find that I must process and use information in very different ways and at a faster pace than I‘ve ever had to in the past. In the world of technology, information is everywhere and I feel like I am in a constant state of learning. Gone are the days, when I would have to go to the library to read about something I wanted to learn. Like most adult learners, I have adapted and now coexist in the world of Connectivism. Connectivism is a learning theory, in which knowledge exists outside of the learner, and the learner makes connections between information to build knowledge. The connections that learners make help them create their own learning network. Through this connected web, learners are able to stay up-to-date with content as it changes (Siemens, 2004). As a result of the changes in how we learn today, we can no longer personally experience what we want to learn. We must create networks which are defined as learning connections between people, technology, social structures and systems. In these learning communities we can share ideas with others, thereby, cross pollinating the learning environment (Siemens, 2005, para 21).
My learning network clearly supports the idea that learning and knowledge include diverse opinions, connect information sources and reside in human and non-human appliances. Social-networking tools play a vital role in my learning process. Internet communication such as blogs and podcasts are just a few of the sources that offer me radically new ways to research, create, and learn new information. The RSS feeds on my blog page is powerful toll that I use to follow organizations, link to certain sites, search videos and much more. With all these resource available, I have built a learning network that is constantly growing, which allows me access to the most up-to-date information on any topic.
References:
Grids, etc. – learning communities can share their ideas with others, thereby “cross-pollinating” the learning environment (Siemens, 2005, para. 21).
Blog: Connectivism Blog: http://www.downes.ca/cgi-bin/page.cgi?journal=3174
Web Site: elearnspace: http://www.elearnspace.org/

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

